This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

RSD 2024 Leftovers Are Now Live

Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are £100 away from free tracked UK shipping.

Use coupon code WELCOME10 for 10% off your first order.

Cart 0

Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are £100 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase

Pair with
Is this a gift?
Subtotal Free
Shipping, taxes, and discount codes are calculated at checkout

Various Artists - Rastafari - The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955 - 83

Item is in stock Hurry! Low inventory Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Free UK tracked shipping on orders over £100.00

Rastafari: The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955-83 charts the many links between reggae music and the Rastafarian faith. Featuring the music of Count Ossie, Johnny Clarke, The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari, Ras Michael and The Sons of Negus, Bongo Herman, Roy Ashanti (Congos), Earth and Stone, Mutabaruka and many more, this is an in-depth look at some of the most unique and righteous music ever made and comes complete with a 40+ page outsize booklet containing exclusive photography and extensive historical and contextual sleevenotes. At the source of the music of Rastafari is the figurehead master drummer and leader Count Ossie, who first brought the deeply spiritual nyabinghi and burro rhythms heard and played at sacred Rastafarian grounation (reasoning) sessions into popular Jamaican music through his many collaborations and performances with artists from The Skatalites to The Folks Brothers and producers including Clement Dodd, Prince Buster and Harry Mudie. At the start of the 1970s Count Ossie formed the Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari with saxophonist Cedric Brooks which immediately became the most significant group of the Rastafari faith, bringing together authentic rasta nyabinghi drumming together with spiritual and avant-garde jazz influences of Sun Ra, Pharoah Sanders and Albert Ayler into a truly unique and groundbreaking sound. From the earliest proto-rasta beginnings on vinyl, Lord Lebby's 1955 mento recording 'Etheopia', through to the raw, afro-jazz roots sounds of Count Ossie to the deep and heavy roots reggae of the 1970s (Johnny Clarke, Earth and Sound, Roy Ashanti of The Congos and others), this album covers nearly 30 years of revolutionary music. 

Click & Collect from our store and pay £0 on shipping.

Flat rate Tracked shipping on all orders.

In-stock items dispatched within 24-48 hours, excluding weekends.

Carefully packaged in Secure packaging to ensure safe delivery.


A1 Count Ossie & The Rasta Family – Africa We Want Fe Go 1:27
A2 Johnny Clarke – None Shall Escape The Judgement 3:37
A3 Laurel Aitken – Haile Selassie 3:14
A4 Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari – Tales Of Mozambique 5:37
A5 Ras Michael & The Sons Of Negus – Booma Yeah 5:39
B1 Mutabaruka – Say 1:13
B2 Bongo Herman & Jah Lloyd - African Drums 3:32
B3 Ashanti Roy - Hail The Words Of Jah 3:49
B4 Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari - Sam's Intro 3:36
B5 Bongo Herman, Les & Bunny - Salaam 3:05
C1 Winston & Ansell – Zion I 3:44
C2 Techniques All Stars – Zion I Version 3:21
C3 Lord Lebby & The Jamaican Calypsonians - Ethiopia 2:59
C4 Count Ossie & Leslie Butler - Soul Drums 2:47
C5 The Heaven Singers - Rasta Dreadlocks 3:02
C6 Rod Taylor - His Imperial Majesty 3:12
D1 QQ - Betta Must Come 3:48
D2 Earth & Stone - Jah Will Cut You Down 3:22
D3 Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari - Narration 9:03
D4 Ronald Downer & Count Ossie - A Ju Ju Wa 3:34

Artist: Various Artists


Pressing Information: Blue vinyl. Remastered 2024 version with new track listing

Supporting Local Business

[{"variant_id":"45070144733338" , "metafield_value":""}]

Various Artists - Rastafari - The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955 - 83